Destination: Attitude

Being my metaphorical self, I imagine a thought process or processes as, say, a rail yard. The idea is that there is a destination that is a belief, attitude or an emotion. The triggering event is the starting point at the edge of the mass of tracks and switches.

The switches do the routing and they’ve been set for so long they’ve rusted in their respective positions. To reroute a thought process would mean getting out the WD-40, a crowbar, and two grown men to move the switches.

The engineer gets the signal and off you go, down the synapses or tracks, diverting from one section of rail to another until you arrive at your destination. Today, for me, it’s extreme resentment.

I often travel here.

Some things have happened here at home that have left me in a predictable frame of mind. I have a really shitty attitude this morning. I want to change that. I’m looking ahead and wondering how difficult it would be to switch maybe one track and divert my personal train wreck to a slightly altered ending point.

Just one switch out of millions. I don’t know much about the structure of the human brain but I’m guessing the numbers of routes are many. I expect to act and feel resentful this morning but instead, I’m going to act as if nothing has happened and go about my day cheerfully.

I can hear the clang of pry bars and the sounds of rusty track cracking free. This is hard.

Fake it till you make it.

Today I’m having an awesome day. 🙂

Published by ldinlove

I am an eccentric blogger and artist. I used to live off-grid, which makes for some great stories. :)

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started